Meiqi PlayRequest a Quote
Menu

Budget and cost

How Much Does a Playground Cost? How to Read a Budget Breakdown

Short answer

There is no single percentage, and any source that gives you one without stating its scope is telling you less than it appears to. Published breakdowns put playground equipment at anywhere between roughly 40% and 72% of total project cost. The spread is not a disagreement about prices — it is a disagreement about what is being counted. One manufacturer’s published model, which states its basis as 2022 US pricing on a flat greenfield site with surfacing only under the equipment, allocates 60% to equipment, 20% to surfacing, 10% to installation and 0–10% to site amenities. A worked set of Australian school projects that included surfacing across the whole use zone runs 43–72% equipment, with surfacing between 9% and 40%. A US vendor split puts surfacing at around 7%. None of these is wrong; they are measuring different scopes. A percentage is only usable when the scope boundary travels with it — surfacing under the equipment or across the whole use zone, design fees in or out, freight in or out — and on most public projects the lines that vendor models leave out are another 30% or more.

Key facts

  • Equipment share of a total installed playground project: about 40–72% across published sources. Almost all of the spread comes from scope differences rather than from price differences.
  • One manufacturer-published model (2022 US pricing, flat greenfield site, surfacing under products only) allocates equipment 60%, surfacing 20%, installation 10%, site amenities 0–10%.
  • Six worked Australian school projects (AUD ex GST, price ranges reviewed August 2026) put equipment at 43–72%, installation at 11–18% and surfacing at 9–40%.
  • Surfacing across the whole use zone versus only under the equipment is the largest single swing in the budget: published shares run from about 7% to about 40%.
  • Public-sector practice commonly adds design, project management and administration at around 20% of construction cost, plus contingency typically at 10–15% — lines that vendor budget models generally exclude entirely.
  • Real tender example: a 400 m² accessible playground in Regina, Canada, priced engineered wood fibre installation at CAD $34,000 against CAD $93,000 for poured-in-place rubber — a CAD $59,000 difference on the same area, described in the submission as equivalent to about 3% of a CAD $2 million park budget.
  • Whole-project ranges span three orders of magnitude by market and type: a US daycare or preschool project from about US$8,000, a UK doorstep play facility around £84,000, a UK flagship play area around £300,000, and an Australian destination playground from about AUD 1.5 million.
  • The equipment line falls and the others do not when a project imports its structure. Importing moves cost between budget lines rather than removing it.

Published playground budget splits, and what each one actually measures

 KOMPAN modelUS vendor articleAustralian projectsUS vendor ranges
Equipment60%≈55%43–72%40–50%
Installation10%≈25%11–18%20–35%
Surfacing20%≈7%9–40%11–20% typical; 15–40% by fall height
Freight and shippingNot given a percentage≈8%, curbside delivery onlyNot in scope2–15%
Site preparation and landscapingNot given a percentage≈5%Not in scopeNot given a percentage
Design, project management and contingencyNot includedNot includedNot includedNot included
What the percentage measuresTotal installed project budget, excluding tax“Typical” commercial project cost mixInstalled package costUS commercial project budget lines
Stated basis2022 US pricing; green field, flat area, surfacing only under products, no site limitationsArticle dated 2025; pricing year not stated for the percentagesAUD ex GST; ranges reviewed August 2026Pricing year not stated
Scope exclusionsDesign and engineering, site works, contingencyDesign fees; site preparation only partlyShade, fencing, seating, landscaping, demolition, drainage, edging, difficult site preparationNot stated

Worked examples: six Australian school projects (AUD ex GST)

 EquipmentInstallationSurfacing
Total $58,000$30,000 (52%)$8,000 (14%)$20,000 (34%)
Total $87,000$63,000 (72%)$16,000 (18%)$8,000 (9%)
Total $95,000$55,000 (58%)$15,000 (16%)$25,000 (26%)
Total $144,000$75,000 (52%)$22,000 (15%)$47,000 (33%)
Total $161,000$70,000 (43%)$27,000 (17%)$64,000 (40%)
Total $204,000$123,000 (60%)$22,000 (11%)$59,000 (29%)

Whole-project cost by market and project type, as published

 Published rangeBasis and caveats
US — daycare and preschoolUS$8,000–25,000Vendor article, 2025. The source describes these as project tiers but its own worked example implies they read as equipment budgets — the ambiguity is unresolved in the source.
US — elementary school or neighbourhood parkUS$40,000–100,000Same source, same ambiguity.
US — city park and inclusive district projectsUS$100,000+Same source.
UK — doorstep play facility≈£84,000Council decision record, 2024 cost base, stated as taking 2024 inflation into account.
UK — local facility≈£168,000Same decision record.
UK — destination play area≈£245,000Same decision record.
UK — flagship play area≈£300,000Same decision record.
Australia — school or apartment playgroundAUD 150,000–350,000Industry article, 2023.
Australia — neighbourhood playgroundAUD 200,000–450,000Same article.
Australia — community playgroundAUD 400,000–900,000Same article.
Australia — destination playgroundAUD 1.5–5 millionSame article. A real tender for a destination playground in New South Wales was awarded at AUD 1,071,306 ex GST.
Canada — 4 to 5 acre city parkCAD 400,000–500,000 per acreReal council submission, 2025, used as the context for a 400 m² accessible playground.

Why the published percentages disagree

Take two published splits at random and the equipment line will differ by twenty points or more. The reason is almost never that one source thinks a slide costs more than the other does. It is that the denominator differs: what counts as part of the project.

Surfacing is the clearest example and the biggest lever. A model that counts surfacing only beneath the equipment produces a small surfacing percentage and therefore a large equipment percentage. A model that surfaces the entire use zone — which is what the fall-height requirement actually demands around most equipment — can see the surfacing share triple, and the equipment share fall accordingly. Both are internally coherent; they describe different projects.

The same applies to design fees, project management, site works, drainage, fencing, seating, landscaping and demolition. Some models put all of these inside the total. Others exclude them silently. A vendor publishing a budget model has an obvious interest in a split that makes equipment look like the natural centre of the project, and none of the vendor models found for this guide include design fees or contingency at all.

The practical consequence is that published splits are useful for one thing and useless for another. They are a good sanity check on a budget you have built from the bottom up, once you have matched the scope. They are a bad way to build that budget in the first place.

The lines vendor budget models leave out

Compare the vendor splits with what public bodies actually budget. A US city park master plan published design, project management and administration at 20% of construction cost, with contingency at 15%. A city in Georgia applied 20% for contingencies and markups on a playground package, with a second document in the same procurement referencing 25% for design contingency, construction contingency and contractor fees combined. A village in Illinois itemised play equipment at 40% of the equipment value for installation, then added 10% general conditions, 10% design contingency, 10% bid contingency, 10% construction contingency and 4% escalation on top.

None of that is padding. Public projects carry costs that private ones can absorb more quietly: a procurement process, an approval process, a community consultation, a design professional who signs the drawings, and a contingency because the programme has a fixed opening date and a bad winter is not an acceptable excuse. But because none of it appears in the vendor models, a buyer comparing their own real budget against a published 60/20/10 split will conclude they are being overcharged, when in fact they are comparing a construction cost with a project cost.

When you read any published split, the question to ask is which of these seven things are inside the total: equipment, freight, installation labour, surfacing, site works and drainage, design and project management, and contingency. If the answer is fewer than five, the split is not describing a project you can procure.

Surfacing is the variable that moves the budget most

Across the sources reviewed here, the surfacing share ranges from about 7% to about 40% of the installed package. That is a six-fold spread on a line that typically sits second or third in size, and it is worth understanding because it is the line buyers most often leave out of early budgets.

Three things drive it. The first is how much area is surfaced: under the equipment only, or across the whole use zone the fall-height requirement covers. The second is the material: loose fill at the cheap end, poured rubber or tiled systems at the expensive end, and wet-pour costs are dominated by the thickness needed to achieve the critical fall height. The third is what the rate includes, which is where the per-square-metre figures diverge so much that they are covered separately in the surfacing cost guide.

The reason surfacing matters to the budget conversation beyond its own size is that it is the item most often omitted from an equipment quotation and then discovered. An imported structure can look 30% cheaper than a local one on the equipment line and be entirely unremarkable once surfacing, freight and site labour are added, because those three lines do not fall when the equipment price does.

Whole-project costs by market, and why they are not comparable

The published whole-project ranges in the table above span from about US$8,000 to several million dollars, and the differences are real rather than an artefact of currency. A UK doorstep facility and an Australian destination playground are different products serving different catchments: the destination playground carries car parking, toilets, lighting, paths, landscaping and often a cafe, none of which is play equipment.

Two cautions apply when reading any of these ranges. First, the published bases are years apart — a 2023 Australian range and a 2026 Australian range would not agree even in the same currency. Second, some of the ranges come from supplier content marketing rather than from procured prices, and at least one of the sources reviewed does not resolve whether its tiers describe equipment budgets or whole-project budgets, which is a factor of two.

Where a defensible number is needed, the most reliable public sources are tender awards and council decision records, because they state a scope, a date and a currency, and someone committed money against them. They are slower to find than a vendor blog post, and considerably more useful.

How to build a budget you can defend

Build it from the bottom up and use the published splits only as a check at the end. The order that works is: fix the equipment list and the layout first, because everything else depends on it; get real equipment prices against that list; get a surfacing rate from a local contractor for a stated thickness achieving a stated critical fall height, applied to the actual use-zone area; price installation labour at local rates rather than at a supplier estimate; add freight per container rather than per kilogram; add site works, drainage, access and any fencing or seating the brief requires; and then add design and project management and contingency as explicit percentages you have chosen.

Once that total exists, divide it and compare the split to the published models — with the scope matched. If your equipment share lands near 50% and the surfacing line is over a third of the total, that is not a discrepancy to explain away; it is what a fully surfaced, poured-rubber project looks like, and the Australian worked examples show exactly that pattern.

What not to do is apply a published percentage to an unknown total. A 60% rule of thumb applied to a number nobody has priced produces a confident figure with no relationship to the project, and it is the reason early playground budgets are so often revised upward rather than refined.

Where these numbers go wrong

Comparing your budget split against a published split without matching the scope

Equipment shares of 40% and 72% can both be correct for the same equipment on the same site. The difference is whether surfacing, site works, design fees and contingency are inside the total.

Using a percentage of an unknown total to set the budget

Percentages are a sanity check on a bottom-up budget, not a way to create one. Applying a rule of thumb to an unpriced brief produces a number that will be revised, not refined.

Forgetting design, project management and contingency on a public project

Public practice commonly adds around 20% for design and administration plus 10–15% contingency. Vendor budget models leave both out, so a budget copied from one is short by roughly a third before anything goes wrong.

Reading a vendor’s worked example as a market price

Worked examples illustrate a particular product mix on an idealised site. One manufacturer states its assumptions explicitly, which is what makes it usable; most do not state them at all, which is what makes them not usable.

Assuming an imported structure is cheaper overall

Importing moves cost between lines. The equipment price falls, and freight, surfacing, site labour, inspection and the administrative overhead of importing do not. The comparison that matters is landed and installed, not ex-works.

Budgeting surfacing only under the equipment

The fall-height requirement applies across the use zone, not just the footprint. Surfacing the footprint and discovering the use zone later is one of the most common mid-project budget increases on small playgrounds.

Sources and scope

  • KOMPAN — playground budgeting and cost breakdown — Manufacturer-published budget model and worked project totals. Unique among the vendor sources reviewed in that it states its pricing basis (2022 US pricing, excluding tax) and its assumptions (green field, flat area, surfacing only under products, no site limitations). Use it as a scoped model, not as a market price.
  • Moduplay — school playground costs (Australia) — Six worked Australian school projects with the equipment, installation and surfacing split shown (AUD, ex GST, ranges reviewed August 2026). The source states what its scope excludes: shade, fencing, seating, landscaping, demolition, drainage, edging and difficult site preparation.
  • Noah’s Play — commercial playground equipment cost (US) — Vendor article dated 2025 giving a US budget split and project tiers. No pricing year is stated for the percentages, and the source does not resolve whether its tiers are equipment budgets or whole-project budgets. Quoted here with that ambiguity attached.
  • playgroundequipment.com — total cost of owning a playground (US) — Vendor article giving ranges rather than point figures for equipment, installation, surfacing and freight. The wide surfacing range (11–20% typical, 15–40% by fall height) is the useful part, because it shows the fall-height dependency explicitly.
  • City of Escondido, CA — Grape Day Park Master Plan — Municipal master plan showing design, project management and administration at 20% and contingency at 15%, with a component-level playground cost build-up. Public document, stated scope, real budget.
  • Village of Lombard, IL — Lilacia Park children’s play area — Council document itemising play event installation at 40% of equipment value, then 10% general conditions, 10% design contingency, 10% bid contingency, 10% construction contingency and 4% escalation. Useful because it shows how a public budget is actually assembled.
  • City of Regina, SK — accessible playground tender submission — Public submission comparing engineered wood fibre and poured-in-place rubber on the same 400 m² area, with a 20-year cost of ownership appendix and a stated per-acre park budget. Currency is not labelled on the document but is Canadian by context.
  • Creo — the real cost of building a playground (Australia) — Industry article from 2023 giving Australian whole-project ranges by facility type. Useful for order of magnitude; the ranges are three years old and are not stated as procured prices.
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council — play area tier costs (UK) — Council decision record of June 2024 giving tiered play area costs adjusted for 2024 inflation. Tiers are defined by catchment and facility level rather than by area, which is what makes them usable as a budget starting point in the UK.

Every figure in this guide is a published figure, not a quotation, and none of them is a price for a specific project. The sources span 2022 to 2026, several currencies and eight markets, and many are content published by playground suppliers or installers — which is noted against each source rather than hidden. Where a source did not state its pricing year, its assumptions or its scope, that omission is recorded rather than smoothed over, because an unattributed percentage is worse than no percentage. Cost figures from vendor content marketing should be treated as illustrations of a product mix, not as evidence of what a project will cost. Build a real budget from real quotations, then use the splits in this guide to check whether the result is plausible.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a playground cost?

It depends almost entirely on scope, which is why published ranges span three orders of magnitude. On the published figures, a small US daycare or preschool project starts around US$8,000, a UK doorstep facility runs around £84,000, a UK flagship play area around £300,000, and an Australian destination playground from about AUD 1.5 million upwards. The useful question is not the total but which lines are inside it — equipment alone, or equipment plus freight, installation, surfacing, site works, design fees and contingency.

What percentage of a playground budget is equipment?

Published sources put equipment at roughly 40% to 72% of total project cost, and the spread is a scope difference rather than a price difference. One manufacturer model with a stated basis allocates 60% to equipment; a set of worked Australian school projects that included full use-zone surfacing ranges from 43% to 72%. Match the scope before comparing, and note that most vendor models exclude design fees and contingency, which public projects commonly add at around 20% plus 10–15%.

Why is surfacing such a large part of a playground budget?

Because it is a structured, tested element rather than a decorative finish, and because it has to cover the use zone rather than the equipment footprint. Published shares range from about 7%, where only the ground beneath equipment is surfaced with a loose material, to about 40% where the whole use zone is surfaced with a poured or tiled rubber system at the thickness the fall heights require. It is also the line most often omitted from an equipment quotation and then discovered later.

Are playground budget percentages from suppliers reliable?

They are reliable as descriptions of a scope and unreliable as market prices. One manufacturer states its pricing year and its assumptions, which makes its model usable; most vendor splits state neither, and none of the vendor models reviewed includes design fees or contingency. The most defensible public sources are tender awards and council decision records, because they state a scope, a date and a currency and someone committed money against them.

What does a public playground project include that an equipment quotation does not?

Typically design and engineering, project management and administration, site works, grading and drainage, access and any demolition, fencing, seating, shade and landscaping, plus contingency. On the municipal documents reviewed here, design and administration run around 20% of construction cost and contingency commonly 10–15%, with some US schedules applying a further 4% escalation.

Is imported playground equipment cheaper than locally made equipment?

The equipment line is usually lower and the project total often is not, because importing moves cost between lines rather than removing it. Freight per container, pre-shipment inspection, customs clearance, surfacing, installation labour at local rates and the administrative overhead of an import all sit outside the equipment price, and none of them falls when the ex-works price does. The only comparison that means anything is landed and installed, on the same specification.

Last reviewed:

Want this costed against your actual site?

Send the site plan, the age group and your target budget. We will come back with an equipment layout, a specification and an indicative price — and we will tell you which parts of the budget we would move if it does not fit.